Backup strategy and Mylio Vaults

Hi, I’m relatively new to Mylio. Curious what other folks do regarding Vaults and backup strategies. I’m on Mac. Planning to use Mylio as my DAM and do basic editing of old family snaps in Mylio. I’ve just bought Affinity as well so I can use its more powerful RAW editor when I want to for more recent RAW photos. I’ve read in the forums that Mylio does not back up the sidecars of external editors. I also have a copy of Chronsync. I’m not too concerned about needing multiple external drives. they are pretty cheap. What backup strategy would one suggest when using Mylio with external editors? Thanks in advance

You’re right that Mylio does not copy files it does not understand between devices, and this includes sidecars or other native-format files from external photo apps if they are not image or XMP files. Affinity saves images in its own native format, with .afphoto as the extension. If that’s the only external editor you plan to use, and you only use it on a small proportion of the whole, I think I would save its files in a separate set of folders outside Mylio, and back that up using Time Machine and ChronoSync - belt and braces!

The result of your work in Affinity can be exported as a JPEG and saved in the same folder as the raw original in Mylio by naming it with a _display suffix (so P1234567.RW2 in Mylio would need P1234567_display.JPG). Mylio will then display or export the final JPEG instead of the original, and will prevent you from making any further image edits in its own edit pane - you would need to go back to Affinity to do that, and re-export the _display version.

One way to deal with fire risk is to keep multiple Mylio vaults on external drives, and store at least one of these offsite, cycling them around for updating regularly (monthly, for example). An alternative is using a cloud storage service such as OneDrive as a vault. Both of these approaches work, if they suit your circumstances.