Edit settings when starting to use the brush tool

I have noticed that when I start using the brush tool on a new image, the edit settings have the values from the last time I used the brush on a previous image, which is quite often not what I want for the current image.

Is this a bug, or intentional?

Is there a way to quickly change all of the brush edit settings (and only the brush settings) to default values?