Folders, Albums, Events, Categories, Keywords . .

Librarian here, but new to both photo organization and Mylio. Working on consolidating family photos from four generations, so a combination of scanned slides, prints, and digital images from many sources.

Using yyyy-mm-dd event file naming, with images in folders named with year and time period or event e.g. 06 Winter = images taken in 2006 during Winter months.
Windows-based devices/vaults, although currently using iPhone to take pictures.

I think I get Mylio’s folders (my existing folder structure). I’m used to keywords in other systems, but they work differently here. (I’m still learning “search” to find images. I’m sure it is pilot error and will figure it out.) But I’m at a loss to make sense of the rest, especially since sharing images with others in the end will involve exporting images back into folders (albeit with captions attached).

I keep seeing references on the boards here to categories and albums and ?? but not in enough specificity for me to understand how/why. I’d love to see more detailed descriptions about how others use various features, and in what combinations. (Assuming no one is using all of them - we are meant to pick and choose, correct?)

Thanks!

You mention exporting & sharing images - and I think that’s important for deciding how to organize things in Mylio, and what tools to use. Unfortunately, I also think this is one of Mylio’s biggest weaknesses - little support for common “curate and share” scenarios. Mylio’s most basic assumption is that every device will contain a synced copy of every photo, at least in thumbnail size. If you want to share just a set of curated photos, you’ll need to export them from Mylio and use another platform to publish them.